pulaski Music boosters

Band Awards
Contact Us
Band Awards & Special Recognition

John Philip Sousa Award Qualifications

Introduced in 1955 to honor the top student in the high school band recognizes superior musicianship and outstanding dedication.

  1. Outstanding musicianship and ability
  2. Extreme dedication to the band program
  3. Strong leaderships skills and contributions above and beyond the call of duty to their band.
  4. High moral values
  5. High academic achievement
  6. The highest total points for their four years

John Philip Sousa Award

2023: Callie Widi 

 2022: Greta Volberding

2021: Cecilia Maroszek

2020: Caleb Wilinski
2019: Sara Kurowski
2018: Annika Linzmeier
2017: Julianna Voelker
2016: Destin Wernicke
2015: Craig Sampo, Jr.
2014: Jesse Gazella
2013: Adam Morgan
2012: Amy Kawleski
2011: Jamie Rodgers
2010: Bryan Sesko
2009: Lystra Charnon
2008: Stephanie Rodgers
2007: Aaron Duke
2006: Megan Howard

Band Awards

Patrick S. Gilmore Award

2023: Samuel Murphy

2022: Bailey White

2021: Aidan Tengowski

2020: Austin Kobylarczyk
2019: Ben Evenson
2018: Tyler Tanner
2017: Nolan Kozlovsky
2016: Brooke Linzmeier
2015: Arthur Gajewski
2014: Riley Scanlan
2013: Josh Kryger
2012: Mariel Carlson
2011: Kayla LaPlante
2010: Blake Smith
2009: Matt Lawler
2008: Justin Cacciatore
2007: Shyekara Smith
2006: Laura Cleerma

The Patrick S. Gilmore award honors outstanding high school band students and their achievements and commitment to the band. It is the runner-up award to the John Philip Sousa Award.

  1. Musicianship and ability
  2. Contributions to their band program
  3. Demonstrations of personal and professional qualities including citizenship, dependability, going above and beyond the call of duty
  4. Second highest total points for their four years.

Band Awards

Arion Award

2023: Grayson Rondou

2022: Gracie Ficarri

2021: William Murphy

2020: Megan Mielke
2019: Madison VanUs
2018: Grant Parr
2017: Josh Gillis
2016: Lexi Parr
2015: Morgan Linzmeier
2014: Joshua Hendzel
2013: Emily Smithback
2012: Laura Juszczyk
2011: Kaci Hoverson
2010: Seth Parmer
2009: Elizabeth Wrobleski
2008: Alex Jacques
2007: Joel Carlson
2006: Ryan Jones

The Arion Award recognizes outstanding accomplishments and achievements in band and is awarded to the band student achieving the third-highest points total in band.

  1. The individual’s contribution to his/her group
  2. Performing ability and their musicianship
  3. Their scholastic standing
  4. Demonstration of personal and professional qualities in keeping with the school standards
  5. Third-hightest point total for their four years.

Band Awards

Semper Fidelis Award

2023: Katherine Heck

2022: Jacob Spredemann

2021: Riley Brown

2020: Dylan Fulgione
2019: Scotty Smith
2018: Megan Walkenhorst
2017: Evan Fenendael
2016: Justin Warax
2015: Brett Byrnes
2014: Devin Wellner
2013: Nate Hilliard
2012: Luke Baranczyk
2011: Leigha Flagstad
2010: Kevin Ripley
2009: Emily Wood
2008: Brandon Harkonen
2007: Branden Doucette

Presented by the United State Marine Corps:
Not only does the young musician have to maintain a high degree of proficiency with an instrument through practice and rehearsal, but they must also maintain passing grades and devote time to extra curricular needs of the band. In doing so, the high school musician displays traits the Marines consider essential: Endurance, Knowledge, Unselfishness, Dependability, Enthusiasm and Loyalty. To help high schools promote recognition of these achievements and the sacrifices the musicians will make, the Marine Corps provides the Semper Fidelis Music Award. It is awarded to the band student achieving the fourth-highest total points in band.

Band Awards

Louis Armstrong Jazz Award

2023: Grayson Rondou

2022: Jacob Spredemann

2021: William Murphy

2020: William Voelker
2019: Sara Kurowski
2018: Grant Parr
2017: Julianna Voelker
2016: Destin Wernicke
2015: Arthur Gajewsk
2014: Camren Crouse
2013: Ryan Loining
2012: Luke Baranczyk
2011: N/A
2010: Blake Smith
2009: Matt Lawler
2008: Eric Rentmeester
Jeremiah Shrovnal
2006: Adam Berndt

The Louis Armstrong Award is the highest level interscholastic jazz award for a musician. It is awarded by high schools nationwide in the United States in recognition of outstanding musical achievement and an incredible dedication to the program. It is earned by a single student.

 Band Awards

Woody Herman Jazz Award

2023: Samuel Murphy & Callie Widi

2022: Connor Weslow &Bailey White

2021: Nick Herison

2020: Austin Kobylarczyk, Caleb Wilinski
2019: Trevor Tengowski, Kanna Kreuser
2018: Hunter Bowman, Tyler Tanner, Ryan Winkler
2017: Nolan Kozlovsky
2016: Brooke Linzmeier, Lexi Parr, Justin Warax
2015: Katie Gillis, Brett Byrnes
2014: Jesse Gazella
2013: Adam Socha, Karlye Whitt
2012: Trevor Lardinois
2011: N/A
2010: Corey Whitt, Brandon Kryger, Colin Duke
2009: Anna Alger
2008: Dan Kizaur, Stephanie Rodgers, Justin Cacciatore
Aaron Duke, Brad Rehn, Katie Neshek, Eric Passehl
2006: Megan Howard, Adam LeGrave, Ryan Jones

The Woody Herman Jazz Award recognizes oustanding jazz musicians and is the runner-up to the Louis Armstrong Award. It may be earned by multiple students.

Get In Touch

Location: PO BOX 441, Pulaski, WI 54162

Email: [email protected]